NCR, Davao del Norte, 6 other areas under GCQ until yearend

Like Tweet Pin it Share Share Email

President Rodrigo Duterte announced on November 30, 2020, that Metro Manila, Davao del Norte, and 6 other areas will be under general community quarantine (GCQ) classification until December 31, 2020.

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte presides over a meeting with the Inter-Agency Task Force on the Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) core members prior to his talk to the people at the Malacañang Golf (Malago) Clubhouse in Malacañang Park, Manila on November 30, 2020. (Toto Lozano, Presidential Photo)

The provinces of Batangas and Lanao del Sur, and cities of Iloilo, Tacloban, Iligan, and Davao will remain under GCQ until yearend.

The rest of the country will be under modified general community quarantine, Duterte said.

Davao City reverted to GCQ on November 30, 2020, following a rise in coronavirus disease 2019 (Covid-19) cases.

Duterte renewed his call to the public to observe quarantine protocols such as frequent hand-washing, physical distancing, and wearing of face masks and face shields.
Duterte also reminded the public to strictly follow minimum health and safety protocols to prevent a post-Christmas holiday surge of Covid-19 cases.

“Ang panlaban lang ng Covid is wash your hand, wear a mask, and stay home. ‘yan lang ang medisina diyan. Hindi mo mabili sa botika ‘yan. Stay safe,” Duterte said.

The Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) earlier has proposed to ban Christmas parties, caroling, and other mass gatherings.

As of November 30, 2020, the Department of Health reported 431,630 Covid-19 confirmed cases with 1,773 new cases, 24,580 active cases, 398,658 recovered, and 8,392 deaths.

Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *